Annual Conference

AEFP 40th Annual Conference Program

Washington Marriott Wardman Park, Washington D.C.
February 26-28, 2015

application/pdf iconDownload AEFP 40th Annual Conference Program

Concurrent Session I, Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 10:15am to 11:45am
Concurrent Session II, Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 2:45pm to 4:15pm
Concurrent Session III, Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 4:30pm to 6:00pm
Concurrent Session IV, Friday, February 27, 2015 - 8:00am to 9:30am
Concurrent Session V, Friday, February 27, 2015 - 9:45am to 11:15am
Concurrent Session VI, Friday, February 27, 2015 - 11:30am to 1:00pm
Concurrent Session VII, Friday, February 27, 2015 - 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Posters Session, Friday, February 27, 2015 - 4:45pm to 6:15pm
Concurrent Session VIII, Saturday, February 28, 2015 - 8:00am to 9:30am
Concurrent Session IX, Saturday, February 28, 2015 - 9:45am to 11:15am
Concurrent Session X, Saturday, February 28, 2015 - 11:30am to 1:00pm

Concurrent Session I, Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 10:15am to 11:45am

1.01 - Accountability for Students
Chair:
Hugh Macartney, Duke University, hugh.macartney@duke.edu
Umut Ozek, American Institutes for Research, uozek@air.orgHold Back to Move Forward? Early Grade Retention and Student Misbehavior
Paco Martorell, University of California - Davis, pmartorell@ucdavis.eduThe Causal Effects of Grade Retention on Behavioral OutcomesLou Mariano, RAND Corporation, loum@rand.org
Laura Egan, University of Maryland and Westat, lauraegan@westat.comDoes Rigor Matter? An ITS Analysis of the Relationship between Student Achievement and Rigor in State Accountability SystemsJustin Dayhoff, University of Maryland, jdayhoff@umd.edu
Marcus A. Winters, University of Colorado Colorado Springs, mwinters@uccs.eduThe Effect of Florida's Third Grade Retention Policy on High School Graduation and Student Course TakingMartin Raymond West, Harvard University, martin_west@gse.harvard.eduGuido Schwerdt, University of Siegen, guido.schwerdt@uni-konstanz.de
Discussants:
Hugh Macartney, Duke University, hugh.macartney@duke.eduEmily Ruble Whitesell, New York University, emilyn.whitesell@nyu.edu
1.02 - Benefits and Costs of Specialized Schools
Chair:
Louis-Philippe Beland, Louisiana State University, lbeland@lsu.edu
Robert Bifulco, Syracuse University, rbifulco@syr.eduThe Relative Costs of New York City’s New Small Public High Schools of ChoiceHoward Bloom, Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation, Howard.Bloom@mdrc.orgRebecca Unterman, Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation, Rebecca.Unterman@mdrc.org
Jennifer L. Steele, American University, steele@american.eduCosts and Effects of Dual-Language Immersion in the Portland Public Schools: Evidence from Lottery DataRobert O. Slater, American Councils for International Education, rslater1@gmail.comJennifer Li, RAND Corporation, jennifer@rand.orgGema Zamarro, RAND Corporation, gzamarro@uark.eduTrey Miller, RAND Corporation, tmiller@rand.org
Jennifer Gnagey, Ohio State University, jennifergnagey@weber.eduThe Impact of STEM Programming on Educational Outcomes: Inclusive STEM Schools in OhioStephane Lavertu, Ohio State University, lavertu.1@osu.edu
Discussants:
Louis-Philippe Beland, Louisiana State University, lbeland@lsu.eduZEYU XU, American Institutes for Research, zxu@air.org
1.03 - Educator Evaluation and Teacher Mobility: Context, Equity, and the Role of Policy
Chair:
Michael Podgursky, University of Missouri, podgurskym@missouri.edu
Emily C. Kern, Vanderbilt University, emily.kern@vanderbilt.eduWho Counts (Most) for Accountability? How Schools Respond to NCLB's Incentive Structure
Matthew G. Springer, Vanderbilt University, mgspringer@gmail.comThe Impact of Tennessee's Teacher Evaluation System on Teacher Transfer and Exit Decisions: A Regression Discontinuity AnalysisLuis A. Rodriguez, Vanderbilt University, luis.a.rodriguez@vanderbilt.eduWalker A. Swain, Vanderbilt University, walker.swain@vanderbilt.edu
John P. Papay, Brown University, john_papay@brown.eduTeacher Retention: A Cross-Site AnalysisAndrew Bacher-Hicks, Harvard University, andrew_hicks@gse.harvard.eduWilliam H. Marinell, Harvard University, william_marinell@gse.harvard.eduLindsay C. Page, University of Pittsburgh, lpage@pitt.edu
Luis A. Rodriguez, Vanderbilt University, luis.a.rodriguez@vanderbilt.eduEquity and Evaluation: Understanding Implication of Teacher Mobility Patterns in TennesseeWalker A. Swain, Vanderbilt University, walker.swain@vanderbilt.eduMatthew G. Springer, Vanderbilt University, mgspringer@gmail.com
Discussants:
Nathan Jones, Boston University, ndjones@bu.eduKatharine O. Strunk, University of Southern California, kstrunk@usc.edu
1.04 - Effects of Financial Aid Policies
Chair:
Andrew Hill, University of South Carolina, andrew.hill@moore.sc.edu
Kayla Bannister, Hillsborough Community College, kbannister@ufl.eduThe Impact of the Year-Round Pell Grant on Summer Credit Hour Completion: A Quasi-Experimental Case Study at Hillsborough Community CollegeDennis A. Kramer II, University of Florida, dkramer@coe.ufl.edu
Jilleah Welch, University of Tennessee, jgwelch@vols.utk.eduThe Incidence of Financial Aid: How Colleges and States Respond to Merit Scholarship Programs
Gregory Gilpin, Montana State University, gregory.gilpin@montana.eduThe Impact of Employer Tuition Assistance on For-profit and Traditional M.B.A. Enrollment Using a Regression Discontinuity ApproachMichael Kofoed, U.S. Military Academy, West Point, Kofoed, Michael.Kofoed@usma.edu
Discussants:
Andrew Hill, University of South Carolina, andrew.hill@moore.sc.eduKevin Stange, University of Michigan, kstange@umich.edu
1.05 - Initial Teacher Assignments
Chair:
Li Feng, Texas State University, lf20@txstate.edu
Diana D'Amico, George Mason University, DDamico2@gmu.eduThe Market for Teachers: An Analysis of Applicant Data and Hiring DecisionsPenelope Earley, George Mason University, pearley@gmu.eduRobert Pawlewicz, George Mason University, rpawlewi@gmu.edu
John M. Krieg, Western Washington University, john.krieg@wwu.eduA Foot in the Door: Exploring the Role of Student Teaching Assignments in Teachers' Initial Job PlacementsRoddy Theobald, University of Washington Bothell, roddy.theobald@gmail.comDan Goldhaber, University of Washington Bothell, dgoldhab@u.washington.edu
Courtney Preston, Florida State University, cpreston@fsu.eduTeacher Preparation and Beginning Teacher Retention
Adrienne M. Capone, University of Vermont, adriennecapone@icloud.comQualitative Insights on Teacher Hiring from Employers and ApplicantsKieran M. Killeen, University of Vermont, kieran.killeen@uvm.edu
Discussants:
Li Feng, Texas State University, lf20@txstate.eduMatthew Hendricks, University of Tulsa, matthew-hendricks@utulsa.edu
1.06 - Parental School Choice: Supply Meets Demand?
Chair:
Patrick J. Wolf, University of Arkansas, pwolf@uark.edu
Evan T. Rhinesmith, University of Arkansas, etrines@email.urk.eduDo Parents Get What They Choose for?
Christian Buerger, Syracuse University, ch.buerger@gmail.comThe Influence of Finance Policies on Charter School Locations in New York, Florida, North Carolina, Michigan, and Ohio
Brian Kisida, University of Arkansas, bkisida@uark.eduThe Supply Side of School Choice: A Survey of School Leaders in Three States
Jane Arnold Lincove, Tulane University, jlincove@tulane.eduIs There Choice in School Choice? Investigating Product Differentiation Among New Orleans Charter SchoolsPaula Arce-Trigatti, Tulane University, parcetrig@gmail.comDoug Harris, Tulane University, dharri5@tulane.eduHuriya Jabbar, Tulane University, huriya.jabbar@gmail.com
Discussants:
Joshua M. Cowen, Michigan State University, jcowen@msu.eduJane Arnold Lincove, Tulane University, jlincove@tulane.edu
1.07 - Smarter School Spending and Budgetary Best Practices
Chair:
Matt Bubness, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, mbubness@gfoa.org

School districts across the country are facing conflicting demands: improve student outcomes and make do with limited dollars. The fiscal realities are sobering, especially given the need to implement the new standards and tests, develop more accurate evaluation and feedback systems, and provide more relevant professional support, among other priorities. With the support of the Bill & Melinda Foundation, the Government Finance Officers Association has developed two new, free sets of resources to help districts address these challenges. Smarter School Spending for Student Success is a new way of aligning resources (people, time, and money) with instructional priorities for improving student achievement. Budgeting Best Practices provide deep guidance to districts on how districts to more effectively link student outcomes to spending choices; districts that use these practices will be eligible for GFOA's highly desired budget recognition awards. Through hands-on exercises, participants will learn how these new resources help districts use cost effectiveness considerations, despite limitations of data, analytical capacity and support for change. The resources are free of charge on public websites, and participants can use them to support their work with school districts.

Discussants:
Shayne Kavanagh, Government Finance Officers Association, skavanagh@gfoa.org
1.08 - Student Discipline and School Climate
Chair:
Javaeria Qureshi, University of Illinois-Chicago, javaeria@uic.edu
Margarita Pivovarova, Arizona State University, margarita.pivovarova@asu.eduShould We Track or Should We Mix Them?
Kaitlin Anderson, University of Arkansas, kaitlina@uark.eduDo School Discipline Policies Treat Students Fairly? A Second Look at School Discipline Rate DisparitiesJennifer Ash, University of Arkansas, jash@uark.eduGary Ritter, University of Arkansas, garyr@uark.edu
Amy Ellen Schwartz, Syracuse University, aesch100@maxwell.syr.eduSafe Havens? School Climate and the Impact of Neighborhood Crime on Test Scores Agustina Laurito, New York University, agustina.laurito@nyu.eduPatrick Sharkey, New York University, patrick.sharkey@nyu.eduJohanna Lacoe, Mathematica Policy Research, jlacoe@mathematica-mpr.comIngrid Gould Ellen, New York University, ingrid.ellen@nyu.edu
Constance A. Lindsay, American University, clindsay@american.eduTeacher-Student Match and Student Disciplinary Outcomes
Discussants:
Javaeria Qureshi, University of Illinois-Chicago, javaeria@uic.eduSarah Cohodes, Harvard University, sarah.cohodes@gmail.com
1.09 - Teacher and Principal Incentive Pay
Chair:
Peter Goff, University of Wisconsin, pgoff@wisc.edu
Prashant Loyalka, Stanford University, loyalka@stanford.eduTeaching to the Tails: Teacher Performance Pay and the Distribution of Student AchievementSean Sylvia, Renmin University of China, sean.sylvia@gmail.comChengfang Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, cfliu.ccap@igsnrr.ac.cnJames Chu, Stanford University, jchu1225@stanford.eduScott Rozelle, Stanford University, rozelle@stanford.edu
Jesse Margolis, The City University of New York, jmargolis@gc.cuny.eduDoes Performance Pay Reduce Teachers’ Intrinsic Motivation? Evidence from the New York City Teacher Bonus Program
Hajime Mitani, Vanderbilt University, hajime.mitani@vanderbilt.eduPerformance-based Compensation: Do Financial Incentives Retain School Principals and Improve Their Job Performance?
Jeffrey Max, Mathematica Policy Research, jmax@mathematica-mpr.comEvaluation of the Teacher Incentive Fund: Implementation and Early Impacts of Pay-for-Performance After One YearJill Constantine, Mathematica Policy Research, jconstantine@mathematica-mpr.comAlison Wellington, Mathematica Policy Research, awellington@mathematica-mpr.comKristin Hallgren, Mathematica Policy Research, khallgren@mathematica-mpr.comSteven Glazerman, Mathematica Policy Research, sglazerman@mathematica-mpr.com
Discussants:
Peter Goff, University of Wisconsin, pgoff@wisc.eduKriatian Holden, American Institutes for Research, kholden@air.org
1.10 - Transitions from High School to Postsecondary Education
Chair:
Robert Toutkoushian, University of Georgia, rtoutkou@uga.edu
Federick Ngo, University of Southern California, federick.ngo@usc.eduHow Can Placement Policy Improve Math Remediation? Evidence from Experimentation in Community CollegesTatiana Melguizo, University of Southern California, melguizo@usc.edu
BRADLEY R. CURS, University of Missouri, cursb@missouri.eduA Quasi-Experimental Investigation into the Effects of the Missouri A+ Schools Program on College Preparation Course TakingJude Kyoore, University of Missouri, jkyoore@missouri.edu
PAUL UMBACH, North Carolina State University, paul_umbach@ncsu.eduCollege Remediation and Labor Market and Educational OutcomesAshley Clayton, North Carolina State University, ashley_clayton@ncsu.edu
ROBERT TOUTKOUSHIAN, University of Georgia, rtoutkou@uga.eduHow Parental Education Shapes the Postsecondary Plans and Outcomes of StudentsRobert Stollberg, University of Georgia, rstollberg@uga.edu
Discussants:
Ozan Jaquette, University of Arizona, ozanj@email.arizona.eduWill Doyle, Vanderbilt University, w.doyle@vanderbilt.edu